Many heroes new and old in Gitarist and Slagwerkkrant


Gitarist’s last issue for this year (well, technically it’s the January 2014 issue…) contains a lot of interesting stuff. And you certainly won’t hear me say that all of it is mine, because it isn’t. First of all, Adrian Vandenberg – “Adje” for fellow Dutchies – is back! My chief editor Mark van Schaick has written a long and informative feature on his new band MoonKings. I certainly can’t wait to hear the album, but I’ll have to wait until February 24th in order to do so. My compliments to mr. Vandenberg for working with young musicians rather than taking the easy way out and ask a couple of big names to join him.

As for my contributions, there are interviews with some brand new heroes. I talked to Eric Campbell from Vancouver’s No Sinner about their fantastic debut album ‘Boo Hoo Hoo’. To tell you the truth, I have an incredible weak spot for Colleen Rennison’s fantastic vocals and the general old school Rock ‘n’ Soul sound of the band. Check this band out if you haven’t yet! Also, I spoke to brand new Legion Of The Damned guitarist Twan van Geel about his contributions to the band’s brand new ‘Ravenous Plague’ album. I have been a fan of Van Geel’s playing and writing ever since I heard him with Flesh Made Sin and this is definitely Legion’s best album yet!

In addition, I had an interesting conversation (and somewhat decent photo shoot) with Marillion’s Steve Rothery, whose hero Andy Latimer is also featured in the magazine (that interview was done by my colleague Stefan Heger, however). The interview my colleague Martine Sipma had with master repair man Hans Pluut is well worth your time as well. If you wonder what to spend your most recent salary on: there’s loads of reviews as well, among which quite a few from my hand.

If guitars aren’t your thing, but drums are, get Slagwerkkrant instead. I had an interesting conversation with Damian Lopez of Amsterdam’s Red Eyes that is published, but be sure to check out the interviews with new Dream Theater Mike Mangini – who also drummed on Annihilator’s ‘Set The World On Fire’, an album I listen to quite a lot – and Peter Gabriel’s most amazing drummer Manu Katché as well!

And if that’s not enough to cure your new year’s boredom, I will publish my end-of-year list tomorrow, hoping to entertain you a little further with that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

