Loads of Kevy Metal photography and articles in Gitarist!

If I told you I wasn’t proud of this month’s issue of Gitarist – in stores today – I would be lying to you. Besides the reviews on the new albums of Hard Rock trio Gingerpig, the heavy Progrock of Deanmoore and the Jazzrock collaboration of Gov’t Mule and John Scofield, I contributed three interviews. Guitar slingers Alfred van Luttikhuizen and Christoffer van Teijlingen of Hardcore ‘n’ Rollers John Coffey talk us through the year between their last live shows and now and the recordings of ‘The Great News’, Tank86‘s guitar duo of Joost Kruiswijk and Harold Aling talk the remarkable equipment that their incredibly heavy new album ‘Obey’ has been recorded with and Arnold Smits gives us all the details of the recording of the long awaited comeback album of Dutch Funk legends Gotcha!.

However, the photography of this issue is what lends just a little extra to this issue for me personally. The photo impression of the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival contains only photos and texts from my hand. I have never had a photo spread of mine published and having it done makes me feel extremely proud. The John Coffey interview has also been decorated with photos I took of Alfred and Christoffer as well. To give you an impression of what you can expect in terms of photographic evidence of my presence at Eurosonic Noorderslag, I’ll share some extra photos that aren’t in Gitarist, but are on the website with you.

The Common Linnets were slightly frowned upon by the section of music experts that take themselves too seriously. In all honesty, I went to check them out because after two days of photographing ugly men, I felt the need to have Ilse DeLange in front of my lens. And really, the show was a pleasant surprise. You can ridicule them any way you want for their Eurovision Song Contest success, but in fact, DeLange and De Dijk guitarist JB Meijers are part of a really strong Americana band. Sure, actually having Americans in the band helps, but new song ‘We Don’t Make The Wind Blow’ sent shivers down my spine. Great vocal interaction. Though I’m not a fan of the genre, it’s all been executed very well. An unexpected highlight that in my opinion has rightfully been rewarded with the Popprijs.

Navarone. What can I say about them that I haven’t said already? They are simply the best Rock band in all of Holland and possibly the entire world at the moment. The only complaint I would have about their fantastic set at Eurosonic 2015 would be its limited length, something they can’t help of course. The huge Zeppelin-esque seventies riffs and the nineties Hardrock unconventionality combined with a Queens Of The Stone Age-like experimentalism and an eclecticism similar to The Black Crowes resulted in the most exciting set of Rock songs in the shape of ‘Vim And Vigor’ last year. And if that doesn’t convince you, Merijn van Haaren’s impossibly amazing with its Robert Plant range and Steven Tyler edge will. On a more boring note, I love this photo of guitarist Roman Huijbreghs.

Jett Rebel is an artist I felt the need to photograph based on his immense popularity rather than my appreciation for his music. Surprisingly, there were some aspects of his Eurosonic Air performance that I actually really liked. His band is fantastic. Especially drummer Rick van Wort amazed me – he even started the show with a short drum solo – but Jett Rebel himself is a more than capable guitarist himself as well. His Prince-like Rock song ‘Do You Love Me At All?’ got stuck in my head for days. On the other hand, at some points he seemed more interested in making contact with the – admittedly beautiful – young ladies in the front row than actually serving them with a great concert. His attempts at audience participation really disrupted the flow of the show. Ironically, his performance at Norderslag reportedly contained virtually no audience participation. I’ll have to admit that his band and especially Jett himself are very photogenic.

  1. Looks fun!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

