Slagwerkkrant featuring my interview with Pauw


Even though I don’t contribute to as many issues of the Slagwerkkrant than I do to Gitarist – which would be technically impossible anyway, given that Gitarist is released twice as much per year – I am always happy to interview for them. Especially when the conversations are as nice as the one I had with Rens Ottink from the Dutch psychedelic band Pauw. He’s a very friendly guy and it was fun to talk about his vintage drumkits and some of the recording tricks he used for the band’s debut album ‘Macrocosm Microcosm’. What tricks? I guess you’ll just have to buy the Slagwerkkrant; it’s in stores now.

And if you’re enthusiastic about drumming; what are you waiting for? There’s loads of product tests, as well as interviews with the likes of Dream Theater’s Mike Mangini and Madonna’s drummer Brian Frasier Moore, while Mark Guiliana talks about his contributions to David Bowie’s last record ‘Blackstar’. I despise Bowie’s music – no, I’m not among the hordes of people who suddenly like him now that he passed away – but even I found it an interesting read. Oh and before I forget: the Noorderslag feature has two photos that I took and includes my reviews on the showcases of Typhoon, Jett Rebel and the aforementioned Pauw.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

